We develop strategic and practical solutions.

Pharmaceutical Law

We advise pharmaceutical companies on all legal issues connected with the regulatory classification of a product as a pharmaceutical (in comparison to medical devices, cosmetics and dietary supplements, for example), on national and European approval procedures, on the renewal of approvals as well as variations and extensions to them and on regulatory data and market exclusivity.

This includes experienced consulting in the fields of paediatric regulation, orphan drug regulation and advanced therapies regulation. In the course of these activities we frequently act on behalf of our clients before national and European regulatory authorities and bodies, assist with their corporate in-house coordination and planning, and assert the rights of our clients before the appropriate courts. Another of our law firm’s focal points is the safety of pharmaceuticals (pharmacovigilance).

In connection with this, we assist with the implementation of, and compliance with, the strict national and European standards by ensuring that correct and functional corporate in-house processes and decision-making bodies are in place. We also provide support during the preparation stage and offer guidance within the framework of official inspections as well as referral and step-by-step planning procedures. This also includes liability issues under civil and criminal law. At the interface to benefit assessment and the reimbursement of costs, we work hand in hand with other experienced law firms.

Medical Devices Law

Given the number and diversity of the medical devices on the market, dispensing legal advice to manufacturers of medical devices requires broad experience both in relation to the interplay of national and European standards, and with regard to the requirements of technical documentation and the influence of international standards (technical norms).

Our law firm guides small and medium-sized enterprises as well as large medical device manufacturers and research institutions in the following areas: development and testing of medical devices, correct classification as a medical device (in comparison to in-vitro diagnostic products, software or accessories, for example), implementation of the required conformity assessment procedure and CE marking, product information design (labelling and operating instructions) and the marketability of product combinations (e. g. advanced therapies).

We assist our clients in their cooperation with national and European authorities and committees and with Notified Bodies, as well as asserting their rights in court. Market surveillance and the implementation of corrective measures (CAPA) are as much a part of our expertise as contesting product liability claims.

Clinical Research

One of our law firm’s specialist fields is compliance with the statutory requirements when pharmaceuticals and medical devices are tested on human beings. We have many years of experience in the implementation of clinical trials with pharmaceuticals and medical devices and with the realisation of other biomedical research projects involving human beings.

There are ethical, medical and legal boundaries, which must be observed (in particular, good clinical practice – GCP), checked and approved by competent authorities and ethics committees. Our expertise encompasses all forms of cooperation within the framework of clinical research in academic institutions and with investigators and study centres, sponsors, contract manufacturers and contract research organisations (CROs).

One focal point of our advisory activities concerns contract management between the respective cooperation partners (investigator contracts, CRO contracts, manufacturing contracts, subsidy and cooperation agreements) in German and English.

Healthcare Compliance

These days, giving legal advice to companies, institutions and individuals in the healthcare system would be unthinkable without comprehensive expertise in the field of healthcare compliance.

We ensure that our clients comply with all regulations and conduct recommendations relating to anti-corruption and healthcare by drafting or reviewing in-house guidelines (standard operating procedures, SOPs) or contractual agreements relating to various forms of cooperation and by training the staff regularly on the basis of the latest training documents.

We assist our clients not only internally, but also externally in their legally legitimate cooperation with medical institutions, doctors and healthcare professionals.

Product Promotion Law

The promotion of pharmaceuticals and medical devices is strictly regulated by law in many countries and the subject of wide-ranging legal proceedings under unfair competition acts. Our law firm can draw on many years’ experience in the field of product promotion law (Law on Advertising in the Healthcare System – HWG) and in legal disputes involving unfair competition laws (Unfair Competition Act – UWG).

We review product information and promotional material for our clients in order to avert potential complaints about aspects relating to product promotion law (e. g. prohibition of off-label-use advertising or advertising for prescription-only pharmaceuticals, bans on advertising to the general public, provision of misleading information about product attributes) and help to structure this information.

As a result, companies regularly integrate us into their internal approval processes. We act both in and out of court for our clients in antitrust proceedings. Another of our focal points in this area is the regulatory classification of a product as a pharmaceutical, medical device, cosmetics product or dietary supplement within the framework of unfair competition proceedings.

Contracts

For our clients we manage and review all types of contracts that relate to the development, testing, manufacturing, marketing and sale of pharmaceuticals and medical devices.

Our competence lies particularly in the specific fields of contract management for clinical trials (investigator contracts, CRO contracts, IIT contracts, cooperation and subsidy agreements), contract manufacturing and contract testing agreements, OEM contracts, pharmacovigilance agreements and cooperation agreements in the healthcare compliance area.

We have a broad spectrum of practical expertise and, by arrangement with our clients, draft model contracts and bi- or multilateral contracts in line with specific requirements. Our expertise encompasses not only contract management, but also the successful negotiation of contracts at national and international level.

Due Diligence

Transactions entered into by pharmaceutical companies and medical device manufacturers require intensive preparation and competent handling. Thanks to our long-standing regulatory expertise, we are regularly involved in companies’ transactions either in our own right or as a team member in conjunction with law firms specialising in the M&A field.

Our law firm advises its clients on the regulatory assessment of pharmaceutical approvals and CE markings, including the impact of ongoing proceedings, cooperation agreements and product safety aspects (vigilance). We conduct these assessments within the framework of regulatory due diligence both nationally and internationally and can draw on a network of internationally acknowledged experts.

Our activities encompass all preparatory measures (e. g. preparation of check lists), the assessment in the data room and the creation of a final report on the findings of the regulatory assessment

Our promise
"You will work with people,
not just with a law firm"
Contact

WACHENHAUSEN RECHTSANWÄLTE

Wachenhausen Law Adresse
Mühlenbrücke 5a
23552 Lübeck / Germany
Wachenhausen Law Telefon
T +49 451 31 70 260 - 0
F +49 451 31 70 260 - 10

With regard to the handling of your personal data, please refer to our data protection information.

Wir finden Lösungen.
Strategisch und praxisnah.

Arzneimittelrecht

Wir beraten pharmazeutische Unternehmen zu allen rechtlichen Fragen im Zusammenhang mit der regulatorischen Einordnung eines Produkts als Arzneimittel (z.B. Abgrenzung zu Medizinprodukten, Kosmetika und Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln), zu nationalen und europäischen Zulassungsverfahren, zu Verlängerungen, Änderungen und Erweiterungen von Zulassungen sowie zum Unterlagenschutz und zur Marktexklusivität (Regulatory Data and Market Exclusivity).

Dies umfasst die erfahrene Beratung im Rahmen der Verordnung über Kinderarzneimittel (Paediatric Regulation), der Verordnung über Arzneimittel gegen seltene Erkrankungen (Orphan Drug Regulation) sowie der Verordnung über neuartige Therapien (Advanced Therapies Regulation). Dabei treten wir regelmäßig für unsere Mandanten gegenüber nationalen und europäischen Zulassungsbehörden und Gremien auf, unterstützen die unternehmensinterne Abstimmung und Planung und setzen die Rechte unserer Mandanten vor den zuständigen Gerichten durch.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt unserer Kanzlei liegt im Bereich der Arzneimittelsicherheit (Pharmakovigilanz). In diesem Zusammenhang unterstützen wir bei der Umsetzung und Einhaltung der strengen nationalen und europäischen Vorgaben durch korrekte und funktionsfähige unternehmensinterne Prozesse und Entscheidungsgremien.

Darüber hinaus unterstützen wir bei der Vorbereitung und leisten Betreuung im Rahmen von behördlichen Inspektionen, Referral- und Stufenplanverfahren. Hierzu gehören auch zivil- und strafrechtliche Haftungsfragen. An der Schnittstelle zur Nutzenbewertung und Kostenerstattung arbeiten wir Hand in Hand mit erfahrenen Kanzleien zusammen.

Medizinprodukterecht

Die rechtliche Beratung von Medizinprodukteherstellern erfordert bei der vielfältigen Spannbreite von Medizinprodukten eine weitreichende Erfahrung in Bezug auf das Zusammenspiel von nationalen und europäischen Vorgaben sowie hinsichtlich der Anforderungen an technische Dokumentationen und des Einflusses internationaler Standards (technische Normen).

Unsere Kanzlei betreut sowohl kleine und mittelständische als auch große Medizinprodukteunternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen bei der Entwicklung und Erprobung von Medizinprodukten, der richtigen Einordnung als Medizinprodukt (z.B. Abgrenzung zu In-vitro-Diagnostika, Software oder Zubehör), der Durchführung des vorgesehenen Konformitätsbewertungsverfahrens und der CE-Kennzeichnung, der Gestaltung von Produktinformationen (Kennzeichnung und Gebrauchsanweisung) sowie der Marktfähigkeit von Kombinationsprodukten (z. B. neuartige Therapien).

Wir unterstützen unsere Mandanten bei der Kooperation mit nationalen und europäischen Behörden und Gremien sowie mit Benannten Stellen und setzen ihre Rechte auch gerichtlich durch. Die Marktüberwachung und die Umsetzung korrektiver Maßnahmen (CAPA) gehören genauso zu unserer Expertise wie die Verteidigung gegen Produkthaftungsansprüche.

Klinische Forschung

Unsere Kanzlei ist spezialisiert auf die Einhaltung der rechtlichen Anforderungen bei der Erprobung von Arzneimitteln und Medizinprodukten am Menschen. Wir haben langjährige Erfahrung bei der Durchführung von klinischen Prüfungen mit Arzneimitteln und Medizinprodukten und bei der Umsetzung sonstiger biomedizinscher Forschungsvorhaben am Menschen.

Es sind sowohl ethische, medizinische als auch rechtliche Grenzen (insbesondere Good Clinical Practice – GCP) zu berücksichtigen, die von Behörden und Ethikkommissionen geprüft und genehmigt werden. Unsere Expertise umfasst sämtliche Kooperationsformen im Rahmen der klinischen Forschung in akademischen Einrichtungen, bei Prüfärzten und Studienzentren, Sponsoren, Lohnherstellern sowie Auftragsforschungsunternehmen (Contract Research Organization – CRO).

Ein Beratungsschwerpunkt betrifft die Vertragsgestaltung zwischen den Kooperationspartnern (Prüfarztverträge, CRO-Verträge, Herstellungsverträge, Förder- und Kooperationsverträge) in deutscher und englischer Sprache.

Healthcare Compliance

Die rechtliche Beratung von Unternehmen, Einrichtungen und Personen im Gesundheitswesen ist heute ohne umfassende Expertise im Bereich Healthcare Compliance undenkbar.

Wir stellen für unsere Mandanten die Einhaltung sämtlicher Regelungen und Verhaltensempfehlungen zu Antikorruption und Healthcare Compliance sicher, indem wir unternehmensinterne Guidelines (Standardarbeitsanweisungen, SOPs) oder vertragliche Vereinbarungen in Bezug auf verschiedene Kooperationsformen entwerfen oder prüfen und das Personal regelmäßig mit aktuellen Trainingsunterlagen schulen.

Wir unterstützen unsere Mandanten intern, aber auch extern bei der rechtlich zulässigen Kooperation mit medizinischen Einrichtungen, Ärzten und medizinischem Fachpersonal.

Heilmittelwerberecht

Die Werbung für Arzneimittel und Medizinprodukte ist in vielen Ländern gesetzlich stark reglementiert und Gegenstand umfangreicher wettbewerbsrechtlicher Gerichtsverfahren.

Unsere Kanzlei verfügt über eine langjährige Erfahrung im Heilmittelwerberecht (HWG) und in wettbewerbsrechtlichen Auseinandersetzungen (UWG). Wir prüfen für unsere Mandanten Produktinformationen und Werbematerialien im Hinblick auf potenzielle heilmittelwerberechtliche Beanstandungen (z.B. Verbot der Off-Label-Use-Werbung oder der Werbung für verschreibungspflichtige Arzneimittel, Werbeverbote gegenüber Laienpublikum, Irreführung über Produkteigenschaften) und gestalten diese Informationen mit.

Unternehmen binden uns daher regelmäßig in die internen Freigabeprozesse ein. Wir treten sowohl außergerichtlich als auch gerichtlich im Rahmen von Wettbewerbsprozessen für unsere Mandanten auf. Ein weiterer Fokus richtet sich hier auf die regulatorische Einordnung eines Produkts als Arzneimittel, Medizinprodukt, Kosmetikum oder Nahrungsergänzungsmittel im Rahmen von Wettbewerbsverfahren.

Vertragsgestaltung

Wir gestalten und prüfen für unsere Mandanten sämtliche Formen von Verträgen, die sich auf die Entwicklung, die Prüfung, die Herstellung und den Vertrieb von Arzneimitteln und Medizinprodukten beziehen.

Unsere Kompetenz liegt dabei insbesondere in den Bereichen der speziellen Vertragsgestaltung bei klinischen Prüfungen (Prüfarztverträge, CRO-Verträge, IIT-Verträge, Kooperations- und Fördervereinbarungen), der Lohnherstellungs- und Lohnprüfungsverträge, der OEM-Verträge, der Pharmakovigilanzvereinbarungen sowie der Kooperationsvereinbarungen im Bereich Healthcare Compliance.

Wir verfügen über ein breit gefächertes Know-how und entwerfen nach Absprache mit unseren Mandanten Musterverträge sowie zwei- und mehrseitige Verträge für spezielle Anforderungen. Unser Know-how umfasst nicht nur die Vertragsgestaltung, sondern auch die erfolgreiche Verhandlung von Verträgen auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene.

Due Diligence

Transaktionen von pharmazeutischen Unternehmen und Medizinprodukteherstellern bedürfen einer intensiven Vorbereitung und einer kompetenten Abwicklung. Wir sind mit unserer langjährigen regulatorischen Expertise regelmäßig in Transaktionen von Unternehmen oder auch als Teammitglied von auf den Bereich M&A spezialisierten Kanzleien involviert.

Unsere Kanzlei berät in Bezug auf die regulatorische Bewertung von Arzneimittelzulassungen und CE-Kennzeichnungen einschließlich der Auswirkung von laufenden Verfahren, Kooperationsverträgen sowie Aspekten der Produktsicherheit (Vigilanz). Wir führen diese Bewertungen im Rahmen von regulatorischen Due Diligences national und international durch und können auf ein Netzwerk von international ausgewiesenen Experten zurückgreifen.

Unsere Tätigkeit umfasst sämtliche vorbereitenden Maßnahmen (z.B. Erstellung von Checklisten), die Bewertung im Datenraum und die Erstellung eines abschließenden Berichts zu den Ergebnissen der regulatorischen Bewertung.

Unser Versprechen
"You will work with people,
not just with a law firm"
Kontakt

WACHENHAUSEN RECHTSANWÄLTE

Wachenhausen Law Adresse
Mühlenbrücke 5a
23552 Lübeck
Wachenhausen Law Telefon
T +49 451 31 70 260 -0
F +49 451 31 70 260 -10

In Bezug auf den Umgang mit Ihren personenbezogenen Daten verweisen wir auf unsere Datenschutzinformation.